Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I'm a beginner and want to make my own radio transmitter / receiver

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys!

I've been looking on the web at some schematics, etc. I don't fully understand them but I want to give them a go anyway.

I have one question to start with:

I'm going to follow this guide to start with:
**broken link removed**

Is it possible to use a different crystal other than 1MHz?

What about this one?
cgi.ebay.co.uk/32-0000-CRYSTAL-OSCILLATOR-32MHZ-32-MHZ-IQXO500C-IQXO-/280481436904?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item414dff14e8

Can I still follow the guide with this crystal?

Do I even have to use one which is the same shape? There are some with different shapes, are they any good?

Eventually, what I want to do is make 2 of my surround sound speakers wireless. The two will need to be on different frequencies because they are different channels and also they will be around about 3 - 4 meters away from the transmitter.

My satalite speakers have space inside the shell for batteries and a receiver I think. I'm excited!

I could even turn my music on and take the speakers outside for when I'm in the garden!

Ok, also I realise that my product isn't going to be great to start with but I'll learn and make it better. I just want to start with this.

Please help!

Ant..