Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ICs

Status
Not open for further replies.

beakie

Hi

I am new to electronics and was wondering if there was a means of finding out about the different ICs commonly used/available?

I can't seem to find anything online (strangely) so I must be doing the wrong search.

Any idea on what I should google to find IC lists?

Cheers

I have always used vendor lists because they have chips I can actually get. I use www,mouser to look up chips and they usually have the datasheet right there where you can download it. You can't use a chip without a datasheet!

ics are used depending on the application.

examples

timer circuits = 555 timer ic
lcd projects = pic chips like 16f628 16f877 etc
led chaser = 4017 ic

what do you want to make and we can suggest a suitable ic if needed.

Back in the '70's I read whole books by National Semiconductor. That was based on the idea that if you don't know what's available, you can't imagine how to use it. You don't have to name what project you're going to do before you can read about what's available.

what do you want to make and we can suggest a suitable ic if needed.

Well, that's the thing. I have used the following ICs... 555, shift registers, pics, bcd display drivers, mux

If I discover one that sounds interesting (from looking at projects people are working on youtube etc) I buy a chip, download the datasheet and have a play with it.