Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ICs for a biginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

magester1

ICs for a beginner

Hello there.
I'm new to electronics and, even though I've already posted some questions, I want to start over.
I've finally moved to a bigger city where I can purchase electronic components, and using other threads I found here I've bought basic things, lile resistors, transistors, capacitors, etc.

What I'd like to get your opinion on is on what ICs to get.
I have no project in mind, just testing what I read (basic stuff) and learn by experience as well. So I was wondering which ICs should I get, both analog and digital, I've been reading more about digital electronics though.

Any thoughts on this are appreciated.
Thanks.

Last edited:
It's a bit like saying " I want to get into car repair , what car parts should I buy ? "............... who knows!

It's a bit like saying " I want to get into car repair , what car parts should I buy ? "............... who knows!

Bad example my friend. If you wanna get into car repair, buy an old engine, a transmission, a gearbox, or the whole old car from the junkyard, and a set of tools to dismantle and having fun with it.

The best first beginner circuit to make IMHO is a 555 and 4017 light sequencer "knight rider".

You are right, and even better: a LM317 variable power supply, to light up the 555 and 4017's lights :)

A cheap multimeter would be great too

Last edited: