Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ICD2 Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

spuffock

Problem with ICD2, whatever I try, I get the following problem. Firstly a failure to get the chip ident (most of the time), followed by a rock-solid "cannot enter debug mode". Using the ICD as a programmer, I am not sure if it writes anything to the target, because while reading it seems to erase. The Vpp line pulses to +13 volts.(during read ??)
I have tried a random selection from 3 PC's, 3 versions of MPLAB, and 4 different target processors. Results always much the same.
It would be good if someone lives near enough to me to try my ICD on their system, to see if the results are similar.
It seems likely that either 1) I've done something stupid, 2) I,ve stupidly not done something, 3) something bad has happened to the IDC.
Out of ideas. Anyone help?

To start with check out a few general things that can cause problems. (check for the easy things) If you do this and answer these questions we will be better able to help you. Please do answer all the questions.

Which kit/PCB/schematic did you build it from ?

PC to ICD2
If using serial port have you turned off the FIFO buffers in the PC?
If using a USB to serial converter that may be the problem.
Does the busy lite on the ICD2 ever come on?
When you switch for a PIC16 to PIC18 (MPLAB config) does it download a new OS without problem?

ICD2 to Target