Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IC-Prog 1.05C

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kultigin

Hello,
I'm a freshman in programming PICs. Although I put a 'LIST P=16F628' declaration in my .hex file and choose the PIC16F628 inside the IC-Prog, when I look at the assembler view of my program I see;
--------------------------------------------------------
; Generated by WinDis84, (c) Nigel Goodwin 1998.
LIST P=16F84, F=INHX8M
include "P16FXX.inc"
I can't change P=16F84 declarations. Why does it put these automatically? Is this a standard or is my program failed?

Thank for your help.

Kultigin said:
Hello,
I'm a freshman in programming PICs. Although I put a 'LIST P=16F628' declaration in my .hex file and choose the PIC16F628 inside the IC-Prog, when I look at the assembler view of my program I see;
; Generated by WinDis84, (c) Nigel Goodwin 1998.
LIST P=16F84, F=INHX8M
include "P16FXX.inc"
I can't change P=16F84 declarations. Why does it put these automatically? Is this a standard or is my program failed?

IC-Prog is just programming software, you need an assembler to generate a hex file, which IC-Prog can then transfer into a PIC. The PIC assembler is called MPASM, it comes as part of MPLAB, which is a free download form MicroChip. You can either use MPASM on it's own (as I do) or as part of MPLAB, which includes a simulator and lots of other stuff.