Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need a timer designed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgray136

I have NO electronics knowledge to the level to build anything. I can solder. I have a project in that I need a timer that I can set to turn ON and OFF for a set amount of time between 1 second and 5 minutes and then be capable of repeating the same operation at a defined time.

I have been looking for a straight forward plug-in digital timer but have not been able to find one that the on/off setting is less than one minute.

The specific use for this time is to open and close a Chicken Coop door at programmed times.

I have AC available but I'm not adverse to DC applications.

If anyone has any suggestions on existing products, kits or can provide instructions on building a timer I would really appreciate the input.

Ok, you've said that you have no electronics knowedge, so the learning curve doesn't justify for the project.

Instead, I suggest you to make an electro-mechanical timer, I've made a small drawing for you.

The "green" timer is the 1-15 min setting thing, the other (beige box) is because you want to repeat the same operation at a defined time

forget to write, the black thing is a microswitch, available on any store

Attachments

• timer_barato.PNG
    timer_barato.PNG
    21.8 KB · Views: 161
Last edited:
Timer

It is always good to have another's perspective. I get it.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Last edited: