Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I am thinking of creating a robot but I'm not sure what's best to use as a control

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris11246

I am currently studying computer engineering and have worked with software and hardware, but I haven't really designed anything myself. What I want to do is make a simple wheeled robot with a camera to practice my image processing.

What would be a good cheap way to control it.

check these link, might help:

Robot construction tutorial: **broken link removed**
understanding PID control: **broken link removed**
a line following robot with automatic lifter: **broken link removed**

I was thinking more along the lines of microcontroller vs PLC vs FPGA. The physical control not coding and I already have an idea of what sensors Ill use.

I was thinking more along the lines of microcontroller vs PLC vs FPGA. The physical control not coding and I already have an idea of what sensors Ill use.

Do you have a preference on what kind of microcontroller you use? What is your experience level with microcontrollers and/or coding in general?