Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

howdy. im a newb. just got a simple question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enviro

Im new to this game want to know something simple. besides being an avid learner of anything im interested in a like to spend my time coding (computer programming, not sure how many here know the term) i have the idea of building a device, anykind, and buidling into it my own OS for it maybe in a language like C. i would just be able to load something like a game i coded myself or some other program like that. would it be possible to do that. and oh yeah im thinking of a simple dot matrix screen (that will most likely be ripped off my old gameboy) would my program have to be coded specifically for the limited capabilities of the screen. Im thinking it would have to be. The basic idea is a handheld device (like a gameboy) thats been hacked and mutilated to my desire. :D i hope thats specific enough.

I'd have to say that your idea is possible, although it isn't as simple as it may seem.

A common approach to involve electronics and coding is to use a microcontroller (PIC, AVR, Stamp etc.) and create a program that will code the microcontroller to perform a specific task.

If you're up on Assembly Language, then you have a HUGE start to programming microcontrollers. Nevertheless, there are compilers that you can use to program in C, Basic and probably some other languages as well.