Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to wire an Opto 6N136

Status
Not open for further replies.

CNCwt

Hi,

I am a complete newbie in electronics so kindly be gentle.

I need to know how to wire an optocoupler 6N136. This is intended to isolate between a parallel port output of 5v to a relay of 24v coil. Based on the data sheet, these are how I understand roughly the following:
Pin 2 - Voltage input to the LED
Pin 3 - Ov of the voltage input to the LED
Pin 5 - GND of Vcc
Pin 6 - Vo (output?)
Pin 7 - Vb (base?)
Pin 8 - Vcc

If I input, say 5v/0v (from parallel port output pin) to Pin 2/3, and 24v/0v (from relay coil's supply) to Pin 8/5, where do I get the output voltage? Between Pin 8 and Pin 6?

Do I need to put a resistor load between Pin 8 & 6 (what value)? Do I need to put as well a capacitor between Pin 8 & 5 (what value)?

What should be the value of resistor before Pin 2 (or is it Pin 4)? Is it preferable to put in a diode in reverse before Pin 2 (or, is it Pin 3)?

If I want to do a complete reversal of the above like isolating a 24v (from a hall effect sensor switch) going to a parallel port's input pin, can I use this same opto 6N136? If not, what can you suggest?

Thanks in advance for all the help and assistance you can provide.

How much current does your relay require, or can you reference a datasheet?