Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to use a photocell or a sensor to turn on and off switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

atif7865

Hi,

I am very new to this whole electronics thing but I think I can do my project with a little bit of guidance since its not a big one.

I need to have the motor for an arm gate to operate only if there is a car in front of it. for this project I thought I would use a light-sensor or a photocell and a source of light beaming straight into the sensor across the path of the driveway. if a car stops in front of the arm gate the beaming light would not reach the sensor anymore and that is when I want the switch for the arm gate motor to turn on.

I think I am on the right path, I just dont know what specific parts to use and how to design the circuit (I THINK THAT IS THE WHOLE PROJECT RIGHT THERE :)

I would appreciate any help to get this project ahead.

thank you so much guys..

if you need any other info please let me know, like the size of the motor, voltage, amps etc.

thanks again guys

Probably going at it the wrong way. If you want any car to open the gate then put in a metal detection loop within the driveway. This is same as used for public traffic lights. These are available. My neighborhood uses one for gate opening to community.

Light sensor is going to give you a number of issues. Sunlight, reflections, etc.

If you only want selective vehicles to open gate then get an RF controller, similar to garage door opener.