Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to Turn Off a Triac?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suraj143

Hi all I’m new to triacs

I want to know how do I turn off a triac?

It will turn on when it has logic high on its gate. But how do I turn it off
I’m speaking about BT136 triacs.

Thanks

You can't. Once a triac is turned on it stays on until the voltage/current across it reaches zero and there is no gate signal appliuedIt can be due to the AC in the triac crossing zero or some other device stops the current from flowing (like a relay somewhere else that disconnects the current).

You need to remove the logic high on the gate and reduce the voltage across "main terminal 1" and "main terminal 2" to zero for the triac to turn off. In other words, TRIACs are designed to control AC and NOT DC.

Ok Thanks for that

let say I'm giving a short pulse to the gate then it will turned on, when it moves to zero cross point it doesn't flow any current then the triac will be off condition is that correct?

yes. to get it to conduct on the next half cycle you need to apply another short gate pulse. after the zero cross.

You can also just apply a continuous gate signal as long as you want the triac on. When you remove it, the triac will turn off at the next zero crossing.

Another thing i forgot to ask I'm operating my triac on every positive cycle & in negative cycle it doesn't do any operation.Is it ok if i control the triac only in positive cycle to dim the light?