Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to stop a dc motor automatically

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elektro_geek

Hey guys, I'm a complete noob to any of this but I want to make a retractable license plate holder as found on ebay, and in the near future start making them for a few of my car forums (for car shows, etc.)

But I don't know how to make the motor stop when it fully retracts the plate/when it fully reveals the plate... again I have no clue about any of the tech lingo, but would like to learn...any help would be appreciated!

This is an example of what I'm talking about:
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/05-09-Shelby-Show-N-Go-Retractable-License-Plate-Frame-/370503806262?_trksid=p5197.m7&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D5%26po%3D LVI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D4801862684931333689

Last edited by a moderator:
Use limit switches.

It sounds illegal to me.
You robbed a bank and are driving away. Then you retract your licence plate so the cops don't know who you are and how many times you have done it before.

Use limit switches.

Thanks, I'll probably end up using these.

It sounds illegal to me.
You robbed a bank and are driving away. Then you retract your licence plate so the cops don't know who you are and how many times you have done it before.

Well...if used for that i guess it would be...