Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to Step down from 12v - 9v?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinvin

Hi pple,
My main supply is 12V and i have a amplifer that has 9V input.
how do i step down the voltage to 9V?
I heard before a voltage spliter is there such a thing?
Sorry i am quite new at this..

Thanks in advance..

You need a voltage regulator IC. The minimum voltage drop is about 2.5 to 3 V for these devices. You can use a 7809 regulator, but I suggest that you have a look at some LDO regulators (Low Drop Out), that guarantee a better regulation if the input voltage is close to the output voltage (typically 0.8 V at full current)

vinvin said:
Hi pple,
My main supply is 12V and i have a amplifer that has 9V input.
how do i step down the voltage to 9V?
I heard before a voltage spliter is there such a thing?
Sorry i am quite new at this..

Thanks in advance..
If u don't need a stabilized voltage for the amp, or the 12V imput is stabilized use 4X1N400x in series for droping the voltage to ~9.2V .

Last edited:
A couple of things (assume you are talking about DC voltage):

A. Is the 12 volt source exactly that or more like 13.8? While the difference may not seem like much, an extra volt helps with what eng1 mentions. If you could stick with a 7809 or LM317 it will be easier to find one.

B. What are the current requirements? Is this a preamp for RF or some kind of audio amp with significant power output. The 7809 and 317 do have limits in terms of current handling.