Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to run this stepper motor without toasting any chips?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Triode

I got some bipolar stepper motors from a surplus store and I'm getting ready to build a circuit to drive them, but since I have little experience with driving larger motors with electronics I want to make sure I properly protect the system. I'm using a pic18F4550 which is connected to my computer through USB, and I don't want to burn up either of them.

The motors are marked 2.4v 1.8A, 1.8 degrees per step.
STP-57D309-02 (haven't been able to find this or a part of it on google)
There are four wires Orange, Yellow, Brown, Red
The motor itself is a 2" cube.

I'm thinking of driving each motor with a L298n. The data sheet for a L298 says it can handle up to 46v, 4A and 25w, so technically it should be able to drive these steppers, it does seem kind of small for motors this size though.

Also, obviously I'm not powering these with USB power, so I'm going to have to feed the driver chips from a second stronger power supply. Where should I put protection diodes? I'm thinking from ground into each motor wire and from each to positive, like most stepper circuits, but will I need them anywhere else? And what spec of diodes should I use?

All major manufacturers have app notes on using their products successfully. Since they designed the product, nobody offers better advice.