Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to replace soldered CMOS laptop battery?

Status
Not open for further replies.

techyguy717

Actually I need to reset the BIOS of a laptop, so I just need to desolder one of the two leads for an hour. (So the bad BIOS config can clear)

I'm an expert computer technician, but an out of practice "Solder Certificate Holder".

I've removed the solder from the lead (using solder wick), but I can't get the lead up from the solder pad. The pad is big and the lead is as long as the pad. Because of the size of the lead I just cant seem to get it free from the pad.

I don't want to damage the board or nearby components with excess heat. What would you recommend? I don't have a hot air gun. I have a 25 Watt 750 degree Weller.

If I can't safely remove the lead, I'm about ready to clip off the battery, tin some copper wire, then solder it back on. Electrical taping the battery side onto the new wire leads.