Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to reduce the volume on my radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

matthew davies

Hi i am new to this forum and thanks in advance

I am a domestic electrician myself, know a little about electronics but not a great deal.

I have recently bought a radio from lidl (it was cheap and looked the part! )
However it seems to be the loudest thing on the planet. Even on volume 1, it's too loud to have as background music in the kitchen. Id like to keep the radio but want to decrease the volume. Is there something I can get which wires into the speaker wires inside to reduce the volume of it? I'd have thought there would be but as I say I've not done alot with electronics.

Thanks

Hi Matthew,
You could just put a resistor in series with the speaker but this would probably effect the frequency response. Using two resistors to form a potential divider would be better. The speaker will probably be 3 ohm impedance so making the resistor in parallel with the speaker 3 ohms or less and making the resistor between the amplifier output and the speaker greater than 3 ohms would be a better solution. The speaker needs to see a low source impedance to avoid altering the frequency responce too much. I would just try a series resistor first as it may not produce much change in the sound quality. The radio will probably not be anything that could be considered Hi Fi.

Les.

Thanks Les.