Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to make a phone light up internally with LEDs? Batphone!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mr.stinkhead

Hello, I'm brand new here.
I have no electronic knowledge whatsoever.

I recently got this red hotline phone and want to make it light up like Commissioner Gordon's on the 1966 Batman TV series

The phone is pretty opaque, so I've heard that LEDs are the best way to go. I'm looking to buy a cheap pre-made array since I have no soldering experience.

Below the pic of my phone is a pic of the open ports (there are two)

I think I can just stick a jumper in there, and it will light up when the phone "rings" however the entire front of the phone is empty, so I have space for the lights to have independant power.

After I get this working, I want to play with adding a device to play the infamous beeping sound when the phone rings as well, but that's not as important as the light at this time.

Any ideas on where to get a good LED array? I found this one:
https://www.theledlight.com/specialtyleds.html
(scroll down after naked circuit boards)
"Unique circuit board design allows for the Light Bars to be snapped to the desired length. A single 12 inch bar can be quickly turned into four 3 inch bars or two 6 inch bars with no soldering or board jumpering."

That's only $19.75, plus it looks like I need a "jumper" to connect it to the ringer.
(or we'll set it up with an independant power source)