Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to know whether its ferrite core or iron core in transformer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clarkdale44

I am quite new in electronics,
I want to make a cfl emergency light and its circuit requires me to have a ferrite core transformer, i have few lying around but not sure whether they have iron core or ferrite core. How to know if its ferrite or iron material?

Ferrite is iron.

I think what he was asking is how to know the difference between a solid ferrite core (better for high frequency transformers) and powdered iron (better for chokes and filters).

My answer would be to buy a new core and look at the specs from the manufacturer. Most of the time if you reuse old cores (pretty much the only reason you would want to know how to identify them), they will not work well at all. Trust me, I just wound a few gate drive transformers, which HATE powdered iron cores :p

Iron transformers esp power ones have iron laminates, dozens of thin metal plates bolted or welded togther.

If the core has a dark smooth finish then its probably iron powder or ferrite, iron powder cores are common for medium freq applications, filter chokes in pc power supplies are often iron powder, they often have a coloured stripe on to denote the material.
There are different types of ferrite too, but unless marked you need special gear to measure the parameters, 80's on tv flyback's are usually ferrite.