Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to install a lower power light on a led flashlight.

Status
Not open for further replies.

lukej113

i am a firefighter and i have a L.E.D flashlight i use. its called the streamlight vulcan LED. my problem is that when working i dot always have time to recharge the thing. on countless incidents i have been in a dark place or a fire and the light has died without warning. is there anyway i can install a low power light on the thing. i have been trying to figure this out for a while now. thanks

Firstly, get a spare battery and a charger that lets you charge it from a vehicle.

The LED current is set by the electronics. You can probably cut the power down by adjusting the electronics. You don't need to change the LED.

A modern rechargeable battery stays the same until the last few seconds of its charge. there is nothing to measure to indicate that its charge is running out.

A laptop computer averages the last few times its battery has discharged and guesses that the next discharge time will be the same.

Simply carry a second fully-charged flashlight.

Presumably you have to sleep sometime. Can't you plug it in while just before bed? If you make it part of your routine you'll only lose, say, 15 seconds out of your day.

Or if you don't want to risk forgetting it at home, plug it in when you leave the hall. Might be a problem if you don't trust the other guys not to walk off with it, though.