Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to Increase the Voltage From One Device to Another?

Status
Not open for further replies.

haroldjclements

Hello forum,

I am new to electronics and have only a basic idea in the area. However, I am keen learner and have produced a nice little timer alarm using the classic NE555 device coupled with a Decade Counter to display the countdown using LED's. Pin 3 (Output 0) of the Decade Counter is attached to the first input of a NOR gate, and Pin 11 (Output 9) is connected to the other input of the NOR gate. The output of this NOR gate is connected to in 4 (Reset) of the NE555. Thus if the Decade Counter is on either outputs 0 or 9 the supply to Pin 4 of the NE555 is cut stopping the pulse (there is a manual switch to force the Counter to tick over).

The Problem: I am only getting just over 1 volt from 11 (Output 9) which is not enough to activate the NOR gate. I have tried adding a transistor to increase the voltage but (this is where my knowledge lets me down) I have been unable to make it work. I have also tried an OP AMP but again have failed to get any increase in voltage.

If anyone could help me by way of a small drawing or an easily understandable descriptive answer I would be very much obliged. I have read so much about transistors but just can't seem to get my head around it.

Thank you for your time,
Harold Clements