Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to design a transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddie_tech2

please i need help in how to design a transformer
i am a beginner i dont know how to begin
if i can get a general mathematical formular/ratio in relation to the size of the wire,the turns it will give for the primary/secondary, for a particular input/output voltage, i will be very happy

Equations

You can use these simple equations to solve your problems:

1) The transformerequation: The effect have to be the same on both sides of the transformer

2) Primary- and secodaryvoltage: The voltage on the secondary is equal to the proportion between the turns on the primary and the secondary side.

Good luck with your project

Attachments

• equa.jpg
    equa.jpg
    6.3 KB · Views: 1,217
Re: Equations

Electronics4you said:

1) The transformerequation: The effect have to be the same on both sides of the transformer

2) Primary- and secodaryvoltage: The voltage on the secondary is equal to the proportion between the turns on the primary and the secondary side.

I'd like to point out that these are necessary but no where near sufficient equations to complete a good transformer design.

The original poster has not provided enough information.
1) input voltage?
2) how many windings / taps?
3) what frequency of operation?
4) Load load load... what is the load... (output voltage(s) & current)
5) physical size contraints?