Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to control rc servo motors using pic controller???

Status
Not open for further replies.

hedonist

hi everyone...
i am a mechanical engineer..need to control rc servos dont know how to go @ it....dont want to buy ready controller..like sv203...can anyone help...need to knowwhich controller i could use...and coding....
thanks

RC servoes are usualy controlled using the PWM module on the PIC or generating the PWM in software. The Pulse width maps to the steering angle. Try searching this forum as this is a very common question.

im doing this at the moment, i have found the easiest way is to use the "Pulsout" command using PIC Basic.

lompa said:
im doing this at the moment, i have found the easiest way is to use the "Pulsout" command using PIC Basic.

Servo's are probably the main reason for the "Pulseout" command in PIC Basic, it's simply a software delay loop - the PWM hardware isn't suited to driving servos.

RC servo's operate by varying a positive going pulse between
1ms and 2ms duration in (i believe) 20ms period
to determine the position of the servo

u can try this:

use tmr1 to time for 20ms. then when 20ms is up tmr1 interrupt flag goes up. this will cause the interrupt routine to kick in. In the interrupt routine, use tmr0 to time for the various pulses u want to send to your servos.

say u have to control 2 servos, so inside interrupt routine

void interrupt intRoutine () {

if (TMR1IF) {

RB5 = 1; //line a
TMR0 = 0;