Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to check for a blown fuse on board.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wvhandyman

I have a Samsung HT-Z310 Surround Sound Receiver. This week in a big snowstorm we had some power surges. The surges blew out my Monster Surge Protector that the receiver was plugged into.
Afterwards the receiver would not power up. I have some basic electronics knowledge and I would like to check the fuse and see it it’s blown and if not check the power board and see if that’s what is bad.

Here is the board:

**broken link removed**

And what I would guess is the fuse area:

**broken link removed**

Is FL1 the fuse? I read "Fuse open check FC1,FC2" do i check resistance between the 2? If the fuse in not bad how best to determine if the board is bad?

Thanks for any imput.

Crappy surge protector if it still didn't protect the device it was plugged into =O
You can check the fuse on contiuity mode on a multimeter, but this won't always tell you if it's good, generally you test it with a small light bulb and a battery as you need to pass some current through it to see if it's good or not, fuse testers are typically nothing more than a light bulb connected to a battery that draws a few hundred ma's of current.

Is that fuse plugged in or is it soldered in. If its just plugged in could I jump between the plugs and try and power up. If its soldered could I just run a jumper and find the same thing?
If it powers up I can the start looking for a replacement.