Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to build a GPS receiver?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ihavenoname

I'm a high school student working on an anti-theft project and I kind of think I'm in way over my head. Maybe if someone could help explain a couple things for me since I'm having trouble find it on the internet. I want to build a small GPS receiver into portable electronice devices. If that's the case, (let's say that that electronic device got stolen) would I be able to track it through a some sort of program on my PC/notebook or through a website or something. Where can I buy the components to build the GPS receiver and how much would it cost me? What programs would I have to have for this to work?

If it helps, I already know much about programming. i know C++ and JAVA, and I know how to create a website and about webpage/website design.

It would be great if you could site a source too.

Thanks!!!

You are never going to be able to "build" a GPS receiver on your own. Buy a GPS OEM module and integrate it into the rest of your system. For example, like one off of www.sparkfun.com.

SparkFun Electronics
SparkFun Electronics