Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to build a frequency monitor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chancecasey

Hi everyone!

I have very little RF experience (but know a little theory) and wanted to get some opinions on how I should proceed. I want to monitor the output of an AMB transponder (used in auto racing) - which transmits at about 3.58Mhz. I know nothing about the signal other than the frequency and that a "7 digit" ID is somehow encoded in it, along with some other data that I'm not really interested in. I just want to detect when a particular ID (transponder) transmits.

To do this, I figured I'd need an antenna, amplifier, and bandpass filter, then of course some way of logging "hi" and "low". I'm assuming the transponder uses amplitude modulation in a hi/low (binary) scheme to transmit it's ID. If I can gather enough data, I might be able to write software to correctly extract the ID out. Oh yeah, I guess I'd need to convert the signal to something usable by an RS232 interface.

Anybody done anything like this before?

thanks!
-Chance

P.S. - I'm not trying to do anything sneaky or rip off AMB's IP, as I'm not trying to "time" the cars, but rather have a simple system for detecting them, e.g. - knowing each one has left the track, or entered the pits, for example. The alternative is to buy one of their $10,000 detection devices that gives extremely precise timing and interfaces with their fancy software - which I do not need.

Last edited: