Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to build a circuit - LED to illuminate when Rule pump is on

Status
Not open for further replies.

badvgood

Hi all,

Newbie here so basic instructions only please!

I am installing a Rule bilge pump in a jetski to remove any water that gets in the hull.

You cannot see the water coming out of the pipework so I want a tel-tail LED on the dash so I know when it is running.

The pump itself is an automatic pump, it starts to run every 2 minutes, if no resistance is felt by the pump it shuts off within a second or two. If it feels a resistance (caused by water on the impeller) it keeps on running until the resistance is removed - IE the water is gone.

This is the pump in question - https://store.waterpumpsupply.com/ruau12vodcbi1.html

How do I build a simple circuit that will illuminate a LED on the dash when the pump is running?

Thanks in advance.

BVG

Are you using an Auto/Man switch?

From the manual;

"5. NOTE-When using two wire installation, eliminating the manual override option, the 3rd wire (Brown/White) must be sealed and secured high above the bilge water."

I think if you hook up a 12 volt LED hot side to the Brown/White wire from the pump and ground the other side it should turn on when the Auto feature turns the pump on.

Last edited: