Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to begin troubleshooting a pcb

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohmslaw

Hi all: I am kind of new to pcb troubleshooting and I am having the hardest time trying to figure out this card. The purpose of the card is to dispense flux to be used in conjunction with magnetism. The problem I am having is figuring what components tie in with each other. I do have one noticeably problem on the card but I can't tell if there is anything else wrong with it because I dont know what components are together. The one part that is surely damaged is the BD682 darlington transistor. Is there a better way to diagnose the board without supply power to it and without removing each component? In other words is there a way to breakdown the board if you cant see what all is connected together? Please see attached picture of the card!

Attachments

• Flux Card.jpg
    Flux Card.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 623
It is very difficult to diagnose a fault without turning the power on.

Hoever, there are a few initial checks you can do:-

do a visual inspection of the PCB looking for any obvious damage, eg. burnt components, cracks in the PCB tracks, dry joints, etc.

A good magnifying glass is essential as some problems are hard to see. For example, my TV had a dry joint that was only visible with a Mag Glass. There was fine crack in the solder around a wire.

After that, assuming you did not find anything, you need to turn the power on and use a multimeter.