Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How it works? Battery Charging Ckt.

Status
Not open for further replies.

heberjm8

Hello! I've had a lot of fun in this experience. The project is all complete and everything is working within acceptable parameters. However, there is just one aspect of this project I am still unsatisfied with. That is, my understanding of the basic charging circuit which I borrowed from here:

Lead acid battery charger circuit

I'm uncertain how the amplifier and transistor work together to achieve the trickle charging effect. The amplifier in conjunction with the NPN transistor, I believe, is what makes the trickle charging feature possible. As I understand it, which is probably incorrect, the current through the transistor (base) and out the transistor (emitter) decreases as the output voltage from the common of the amplifier increases. The information contained on the website linked above is sufficient only to reconstruct the circuit, but it doesn't really explain exactly how everything works. I'm wondering if I could request one last favor on this topic and have someone explain further.

Completing a working battery charger was only half of the objective. The other half, and in many ways the primary incentive, was to learn more about circuit design. Please be as elaborate as possible in your explanation, if you would be so kind as to help. I can't thank you enough for your assistance. As always, I very much appreciate your time and generosity.