Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do I dim a PWM input with a POT

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdelicath

I have a driver for high power LED's that uses PWM 0 to 5v to dim the LED's. This works great when using the Arduino to control dimming but what if I want to dim the driver manually with a 10k POT or otherwise?
Please be kind I am a big old Noob.

You can generate a pot-controlled PWM signal with a 555. Just Google 555 PWM circuit.

I thought a 555 was used to dim PWM.
I am looking for a way to convert the driver I already have that uses PWM 0 to 5v to dim but via a pot manually. I apologize if I am missing something here. Could I just supply +5 to one end of a pot and the other to the PWM pin in the driver and then adjust it that way?

I think I grasp what you're asking and what you're working with. If I'm correct in my thinking then no you cannot simply attach a POT to the drivers PWM input and have it properly (I'm guessing it would just stay at 100% brightness). You need something that generates a PWM signal with a POT control. A 555 timer as stated above can be used for this purpose and is very simple to get up and running. **broken link removed** simliar to the linked page but instead connect the motor control line to your LED driver's PWM input.