Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Homemade alarm problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

plumber1969

Hello im a newbie on here so please go easy

I have manage to build a motorhome alarm using car parking sensors

I have link 5 car parking sensor together giving me a total of 16 sensor place around the motorhome

Each sensor has a buzzer wire positive and negative going to a piezo buzzer the voltage at the piezo is betweeen 6volts and 11.78volts at different stages of detection

I have removed the buzzers to all of them by one {this is to warn me inside the motorhome }and have used all the wires as triggers

I have wired all 5 postives together after putting blocking doides on each line this then goes to the gate on a mosfet irf540

the neutrals go to the source

I then have 16 x 1 watt leds in a ring going to the drain via the postive of a 12 volt battery {this battery is not linked to the alternator }
The neutral going to the source

I have had it up and working fine then i ask a elecronic guy to put a mosfet into a box to make the design look better and different one irf640 and when i fitted it all the parking sensor blow up ie there is now a constant bleep from all of the sensor units when you are not in detection range of the sensor dam:mad:

So my question
1 if the mosfet was at fault how can i protect this circuit ie the positive and negative coming from the a reverse polarity or breakdown of the mosfet?