Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

hiking with a cell phone

Status
Not open for further replies.

brianb1998

I need some help here. I love to go hiking in salt lake city however most of the good spots have little to no reception. since I am an on call engineer I need to have reception where ever I go.

Is there anything Ican make or buy that will boost my signal greatly while hiking in the mountains.

It would have to be self contained since obviouslt I wont be able to plug it in to a power source.

You can rent a sat phone, still pricey, but probably more reliable than a cell booster which you can't vouch for until it's too late.

This link will show you all the FCC registered cell phone sites in the Salt Lake City area.

There is no way to develop what you are looking for. The problem being the transmissions from tower are pretty much line of sight and omnidirectional (some being directional). Most advertised products that make the claim they will improve range are snake oil.

One possibility may to see how well different providers cover the areas you hike in, however, if there are none offering good coverage you are pretty much at square one. I know we have a few forum members in Utah and I think the Salt Lake area so maybe one of them will have a provider suggestion.

Ron

What are your options if you get injured and can't move?

Perhaps there is a two-way pager that would cover your hiking area.