Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

High Power LED Dimmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

duda123

Hello guys!
I'm trying to build an "Illuminator" for my video camera, since it's too expensive for me to buy, but I ran into some problems.
It will be made of 5 high-power leds and will have a dimmer and an on/off switch, but I couldn't find any high-power dimmer circuits on the internet. I'm a beginner in electronics. Can you help me, please?

This is the datasheet for the Leds i'll be using:
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2012/07/LL-HP70MW6F.pdf

By the way, after this one I may build a 12-led one, and it would be great if you could help me with both projects!

Thanks very much for you support,
Eduardo

What voltage do you have for them?

Heatsink type?

Last edited:
Hi,

Usually a PWM circuit is used to make dimming easier. It's not more efficient but it works good unless you can not stand any light fluctuation at all. A fast enough PWM frequency helps cure that too though.

If you use an actual buck circuit you get higher efficiency too which extends battery life for intermediate power levels.

Last edited:
I used 5 of these LEDs before on a project. A piece of trimmed copper clad board underneath sufficed as a heatsink with a touch of heatsink compound. They were individually driven by a ULN2803 driver. Each different colour was current limited with different resistor values as they has different forward voltage drops.