Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with unregulated [car] 12v dc —> 5v dc @7.2 amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

littlepixel

Hello Electro-tech Forum!

I'm really new to the the whole idea of making something I need with some components and a soldering iron, but lack of an off-the-shelf solution to the specification of a power-supply I need has led me here and I hope I'm a) not asking a REALLY stupid question and b) if someone might be able to help...

What I need to build is a 12v dc —> 5v dc @7.2 amps power regulator. Regulator might be the wrong word so I'll fill in the gaps as to it's use and maybe you can advise on a way ahead for me?

So I have an Apple TV media device - these are usually used as TV set top boxes to stream media, but I have hacked mine to run a full operating system that allows me to basically have a music server controlled headlessly with a smartphone. All that bit is working great; The problem is to run it in my car (Which is the the hope) I'll have to run it with a 12v DC —> 220v AC inverter. This seems incredibly inelegant to me since the unit has it's own built in power supply that then converts back to 5v @ 7.2 amps.

So what I'd like to do is build a new unregulated 12v—> regulated 5v supply that can provide what I understand is a pretty high ampage and that can run in a car trunk or perhaps under a seat and not get dangerously hot.