Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with transistor as switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

sabotaged

I have some knowledge of digital circuits, but not much in the way of analogue circuits so I'm stuck on this.

Here's what I have: A digital camera infrared remote. I want to be able to "press" a buton on this camera remote remotely, ie RF so I don't need a direct line of sight.
I also have one of those remote (RF) controlled noise machines that I'm trying to use to trigger a button on the camera remote.

I've taken apart the camera remote, and soldered two wires on the contact of the button.. so that if I short the wires the button on the camera remote button gets "pressed".
My problem is I'm not sure how to attach these wires to the noise machine so that when I use the RF remote for the noise machine, the camera remote button gets "pressed".

Simply attaching these wires to the two speaker wires on the noise machine doesn't work, as this causes camera remote button to always be pressed.

I think a transistor might be whats required, but I'm not sure how to set it up. I've found some schematics of transistors as switches on the internet, but it seems my case is a bit different.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks

Well, It's a long shot but I think I see what you're after here.

Use your RF remote to drive the transistor which triggers a Reed Relay, Use the relay contacts to 'contact' your camera button.

hackableFM...

analog switches