Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help with Physical auto clicker

Status
Not open for further replies.

mozly

Hello,

I'm new at electronics and haven't done any projects in a while. Recently, I'm trying to make an auto clicker for my mouse using a 555 timer.

I noticed that if I take a wire and touch the two ends of the switch for the right click the mouse right clicks.

My design is simple I have a 555 timer chip in astable mode outputting to a transistor at about 5hz. I connect that transistor in parallel with the right mouse.
I thought I would be getting the mouse to click at 5hz but it didn't work.

Is it because the 555 chip's output voltage is too low or is this impossible?

ps. I dont want to use relay because it would make my design too bulky and I want to eventually put this circuit in my mouse.

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    7.7 KB · Views: 239
You need to connect the ground of your circuit to the ground of the mouse circuitry, unless you use a relay or an optoisolator. I would advise using an opto. Try a 1Hz data rate at first, then move to 5Hz.

I'm attempting something similar at the moment but have tried for hours and had no success. Im using a 555 Astable with a 3904 Transistor base leg on pin 3. Collecter and Emitter parralell with the switch as you did. I am really frustrated as all the circuits work I just can't seem to get the right part on the mouse's circuit board to solder them to. Any advice/instructions for me maybe?
Thanks