Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with microcontroller programming for a complete newbe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Old Guy

Hi to all,

Can anyone steer me in the right direction please. And sorry if this has already been threaded.

I want to learn how to program microcontrollers. I know what hex looks like and how it is made up, but I need to start at basics as a newbe to programming.

I guess the microcontroller will have its own on-board memory or will require an E2prom?

My goal is to decode the (serial) output from an RFID reader into a simpler output that can identify each RFID tag into a simple number form, maybe starting at number one and incrementing by one despite the Tag's own value. The RFID reader I have in mind has an RS232 output (although that isn’t crucial to the project), I thought RS232 would make things simpler for set-up as it could input a laptop or similar, but the laptop (if used) would not be the permanent decoder, just for testing and set-up.

I must add that this is for a home project and not for any form of RFID skimming.

Are there books or links to programming, that a complete numpty like me can understand? I have no idea (at present) how the programming instructions should be used or what they mean. Or what type of microcontroller to use.

The microcontroller memory must not be volatile because I want to be able to power it down for days at a time and just power it up to use it with the same RFID tags that were programmed in.