Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with LM386 audio amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

orangemanorman

Hello all,

I am new to audio amp and I need your help/opinion

What I am trying to do is maximize the current out of the audio amp. Out of Pin 5, I noticed a lot of diagrams have a small resistor in series with a capacitor connected to ground as well as the capacitor connected in series with the load speaker. Can you tell me what the capacitor and the resistor is for?

How can I max the current output if I have a load of 30 Ω? and what would the maximum current be?

I am also interested in the LM384 which delivers 5W output, but I am not sure how to max the current there either (and there is also a resistor and capacitor in series connected to ground), the load is 30Ω also.

Thanks

The wattage of the amplifier is under ideal conditions, I can tell you right now your conditions are most likely not ideal as they rarely ever are. The LM386 has a max output of 0.5W and it is impossible to exceed that limit for any number of reasons. The main reason is that if you try to exceed that you will destroy the amp. The output power is defined by the input power, the gain and the supply power. It sounds like you are trying to gain power out of the amp that isn't there.