Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help with interlocking overhead doors to commercial heater

Status
Not open for further replies.

tufdog71

Hello all. First let me say that I am an overhead door mechanic. I have a fair bit of electronics troubleshooting and wiring experience from years of door systems service and repairs. This request is a little outside my comfort zone, but I think it is do-able with a little help from you all.

One of my customers has asked me to interlock 2 overhead doors to his heater so that if the heater is on and either door is opened, the heater will shut off. I know the 2 interlock switches must be wired N.O. and wired in series so when both doors are closed the circuit is complete.

He told me that the control circuit for the heater is 120VAC. I don't want to mess with the heater since it's not my area of expertise. And I'm not en electrician, so I can't run 120V lines. I want to do something low-voltage.

I know I need to find out what kind of current the control circuit in the heater is drawing, but.......

Questions:

1. Can I use a 24VAC SPDT relay to do the shutting off? Omron LY2F is what I have in-stock. Rated for 10A switching @ 110VAC
2. Would a 24VAC, 40VA plug-in type transformer (also in-stock) do the trick for coil voltage through 2 interlock switches? About 100 ft from heater controls to furthest interlock.
3. Should the heater be considered an inductive load?

Any help is appreciated.