Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help With Circuit breakers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mitsos1

Hello All...
Here is my project..im not that good at this but maybe i can get some help..
What im after is this..
In a small airplane where circuits are protected by a CB that pops when a short is detected i was thinking of installing an LED that will be an attention getter,, Flashing is nice but not necessary.

So this is the scenario..
The Aircraft bus voltage is 12 Volt+- .5 or so...
When the CB pops i would like to have a medium size LED light up to attract attention..
Can Someone make up a list of parts and the simplest of wiring to show how to wire it?..
I will use Aircraft wiring to do all that of course....

Thanks To all

Regards

Last edited:
One way to do this is to wire a LED and resistor across the breaker. This limits the current to 10-50 mA through the circuit depending on the LED . What this does mean is that you cannot turn off the current drain for direct battery connected loads.

On the other hand, you could devise a circuit that would draw much less power and be powered by the ignition circuit. Depending on how complex you make it, it could indicate that "A breaker is blown" or you could group them into circuits grouped by importance and use a LED for each group. You would probably have to make a PC board for this option.

We apparently have a pilot as a member of this forum and I'd like to see his take on this.