Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with aquarium power backup system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rickvn

Hi all. This is my first time here. Please can you help me with the pros and cons of this idea.

I have to set up a backup for my marine aquarium. I live in a rural area and powercuts are pretty regular occurrences. Two weeks ago we were out for 19 hours and I ended up buying a generator to keep my tank alive. We're going on holiday for two weeks and I need to set something up to cover me for that period. I think something that will run for 6 - 8 hours will cover most cuts.

My idea is as follows:
I want to use a deep cycle 60Ah sealed lead acid battery as the power source. To this I want to connect a 300watt inverter. To the inverter I'll connect a 50 watt heater and two pumps (for water circulation) each of about 15 watts. So way less than the 300watts maximum continuous supply from the inverter.

To keep the battery topped up I want to connect it to a trickle charger which will run from mains (grid) power so the battery will be charging when the power is on.