Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with ABS disable

Status
Not open for further replies.

MTZ

Hi all, new here and looking for help. I'm a mechanic, but new to opening ecu's.

I am disabling the ABS system on a racebike, but want to keep the traction control and anti wheelie features and have no ABS light so the diagnostics can still highlight faults. I have the ABS disconnected and plugged up, but want to remove the pump and block to save space.

I would like to know what kind of resistors I should replace the pump motor and solenoids with? The pump windings measure 1.1 ohms, and the solenoids 7.5 ohms.
I'm not sure how to replace the pressure transducer (4 pin)?

Hopefully this is easy. Any help appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:
You could probably replace the solenoids with resistors around 7.5 Ohms. They will dissipate around 25 W if they operate. That may only be for short periods, so you may get away with smaller resistors but I would suggest wirewound resistors of at least 5 W continuous rating.

The pump will take far less current when running than would be calculated by the supply voltage divided by the resistance, which is around 10 A. It will probably take 2 - 4 A. You could try using the same resistors.

It's difficult to know what would simulate the pressure transducer. The electronics may expect to see a change in reading when the pump runs or the brakes operate. Simulating that could be difficult.