Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with a three-way switching system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

First of all I should make clear that I am relatively new to this so please bear with me.

I'm trying to design a circuit which has 3 'push-to-make' switches all linked to the one solenoid. I would like the solenoid to run for a set amount of time and then turn off - even if the switch is still in the 'on' position. The time should vary depending on which switch is pressed.

I am having trouble getting my head around this - I am pretty sure it will require the use of a capacitor and various resistors to determine the different amounts of time the solenoid will stay on but I'm not sure how to approach it.

Once I've figured out the basics of this circuit I would maybe like to add an LED which will come on when a button is pressed and stay on for a duration after released.

If anyone could point me in the right direction I would be grateful.

Thanks,

Stuart

Last edited:
First of all, you'll need three separate monostable triggers. I've a link here that describes a monostable circuit with the 555 timer. I haven't checked what happens if you click two or more times on trigger-button rapidly.

To prevent trigger pulse being longer than just a very short pulse, you could always do the NAND/AND with a inverter on one input (atachment).

You haven't told what should happens if two triggers being activated simultaneously (or wery close at same time).

Attachments