Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help out a noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

GForce2010

Hi guys, i'm quite new to this and wanted som help on an idea i have. I'm ding a project on my car and want to run a few UV LED's but the only ones i can find can only handle 4v. So is there anyway i can hook these up to my 12V feed using some sort of converter.

Sorry if this is a stupid question.

Thanks.

Ok,

what you need to do is use a resistor in line with each led. This will drop the current to the required level to safely power the led. In order to work out the resistance you will need, you need to know the supply voltage the voltage drop of the led and the current at which you want the led to operate.

ok supply voltage is 12v. voltage drop of led is 4v(approx) and typical operating current for led's is 20mA.

resistor required = supply voltage - voltage drop / current(in amps)

12-4/0.02 = 400 ohm resistor (next closest value is 470 ohm)

so you would need a 470 ohm resistor in series with each led in order to operate them from 12v at a forward current of 17mA(0.017A)

Last edited:
Keep in mind a cars voltage will be around 14v when running. I would size your resistor for 14v or use a voltage regulator.

Andy1845c said:
Keep in mind a cars voltage will be around 14v when running. I would size your resistor for 14v or use a voltage regulator.

yeah, I agree.