Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help on simple DC/DC convertor(step up)~

Status
Not open for further replies.

him27hk

Hello everybody, i am a newbaby to electronics~ soory for my poor english:p

I need help on a DC/DC converter, 3v in and 12v out convertor, i hope no IC is required, as simple as possible(may be using wire-wound core). The load is around 750ma, 1a max, and no need to regulate.

Thx everyone~

Hey, I'm just a novice too, but I looked into somthing like that a few weeks ago and came up with no simple solution except to buy an expensive, premade converter. There are ICs avalible that will supply upto 500ma, but I couldn't find any that would go over that current. I did find an artical on building a DC/DC converter that was interesting, but way over my head as a beginner project. I have the page saved on my home computer, i'll try and remember to post it tonight.

that's a pretty big conversion ... 12 watts is 4a at 3v, plus another 30% for overhead, so you're lookin at 5 amps from your voltage source, it'll take some good batteries!

check out linear.com as well as national.com ... you'll need an IC; an smps controller, as well as a handful of other components ... since regulation isn't a big deal for you, the components need not be critcal in value, "close enough" will work fine.