Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

denis

hi i am new to all this but always been interested in how things work and would like to know how to go about making a pressure switch activated animated light display i worded this different in my first post but no one replied.basicaly i want to hit a target and the harder the target has been hit the more lights are activated reaching a certain point then returning to zero lights. i know this can be achieved its always easy when you know how any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated .

It would help to know the design of the target to better suggest what type of mechanical interface between the target and the switch is needed.

Conceptually you could use a spring to restrain the target and connect a linear potentiometer so that as the target is depressed, the pot will also be actuated. The output of the pot could be use to control the lights (such as with an LM3914 dot/bar display controller). If you want to do animation with the lights then a µC would be better for the control.