Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help needed for a 'musical bike' project.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Semaj

Hello everyone, this is my first post on this site. I have to say; the thing that brought me to this site is my own electrical incompetence, I would be INCREDIBLY grateful if ANYONE could offer ANY help! I cannot stress that enough.

Basically, I am a 3rd year student studying Music Technology & Innovation. I am studying a module that requires us to make interactive music. I chose to get a racing bike and rig up some variable resistors and a dynamo to it. The variable resistors are to be connected to 3 brake handles (it has 4 as it is a racing bike, but I want to keep one for proper brake use), and on blocks either side of the front tyre. They will be used to detect whether the person on the bike is pulling the brake or steering, and how much they are doing so. I would like to also connect a dynamo to the back wheel to detect the speed the bike is being ridden.

Why? Well, if I can gather this data I can then use it to control musical parameters. I.e., speed of peddling = tempo of music, etc. I would also like to be able to detect multiple things at once, i.e., front brake 1 in combination with turning left and peddling at x mph. The result will (hopefully) be that an individual can get on the bike (which will be static as I will raise the back wheel) and can cycle a bike through a musical space, controlling the music by their cycling actions.