Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help Me Understand This LM311 Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

bdiddie

I would just like to know if this will work?!? It is supposed to act like a on-off switch for a relay in a car. I need pin 3 to always hover around .5v -.7v. The non-inverting input(pin2) actually has three different possible values coming from the automobile: 12.8v , 2.5v ,or 0.020v. Are the resistor values sufficient? I'm an electronics beginner, trying to wrap my head around this circuit. I have read up on the LM311 and understand the operation of the IC but I'm not sure what the all the capacitors are for and also if the resistor values are going to give me the correct values for my input signals.

**broken link removed**

The resistor values you show should give you about .56 Volts at pin 3, that would be the approx. switching threshold. You list 3 different voltages that may be applied to the input but you didnt say at what voltage you want the circuit to change states.
The voltage in a car varies depending on if the engine is running or not so your .56 volt reference will change some also. A way to avoid this would be to replace the 220 Ohm resistor with a diode like a 1N4148 with the cathode connected to the ground. This will always have approx. .7 Volt drop across it and will not change when the supply voltage varies.

Also offhand I don't know if a LM311 will directly drive a relay, and you will also need a snubber diode across the relay coil either way.