Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me build ticking clock with chime

Status
Not open for further replies.

nuggetz

I'm very new to electronics. Been playing with Arduino for a few years but nothing serious. I've been wanting to build a circuit that does the following and need some help:

I have a wooden box that I'd like to have it function sort of like a clock but not really as all I need it to do is tick every second and maybe have a way for it to chime on the hour.

For the ticking, I was thinking of a piezo or something and maybe for the chime, I could purchase one of those greeting cards that you can record your own message onto and have it somehow triggered every 60 minutes somehow. I could find a chime sample off the internet and record that on it. How difficult does this sound? If I can just get it to tick for now then i would prefer that an LED be tied to the tick so that it lights up every time it ticks - once per second. Might be easier with the arduino but I dont want to tie it up. I'd like the unit to be standalone. I have no idea where to begin.

Last edited:
Break the problem into steps.

First you need to come up with a way to know when 1 second has passed. Not hard with the arduino.

Then for each second activate the piezo. There should be tutorials on using an arduino to drive one.

Count up the seconds to know when the hour is. Use the arduino to turn on a transistor that activates a solenoid that strikes a chime.

etc