Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help in creating a battery pack charged by bicycle dynamo

Status
Not open for further replies.

barughy

Hello all,
I'm a complete novice in regards to anything electrical (I know how to wire a plug and thats about it) so I need you help if possible.

I'm looking to charge a battery pack using a 'Brompton AXA Traction Right Hand Dynamo'

This is what i'm hoping to acheive (let me know if its possible or not)

1. That I can charge to battery pack (what size? What type of batteries? etc.)

2. I would like to make a light sensitive switch that would allow my headlamp (LED) to draw power from the battery at night automatically (help in how to do this and what I need to complete the circuit)

3. If possible I would like to also allow my I-pod to connect to the battery pack for charging during daylight hours (again is this possible? and can you please guide me through the process?)

That's pretty much it. I really dont know where to start and the information on the internet involves a hugely steep learning curve. I need to do this as part of a project so buying ready-made equipment isn't an option. DIY only.

Any help would be huge.

Well for starters you need to help us help you, by finding some data on variuos parts you have, like what voltage do the dynamo put out at what rpm of the wheel (approx rpm), any idea on what current the dynamo will supply.

What is the voltage and current needs for the led headlight.