Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help for a complete novice

Status
Not open for further replies.
a lot less developement time.
. . .'cause the engineering has already been done.
Good idea.

At some point, Mr. Wit, we should find out how much current the 12v signal input to the engine controller requires. If it's a CMOS input, the answer is "almost none."

Think you will be looking for an inverting comparator circuit with perhaps a LM393 .

A simplistic recap; take an analog signal voltage from an IR, ultrasonic or ?? sensor. Condition that signal to a reasonable voltage if necessary with an operational amp I.C. Determine the wheelie height that you want to take action at and its corresponding output voltage, this is your reference voltage. The reference voltage can be accomplished with a voltage divider circuit. A precision pot on one leg of the divider would make an adjustable reference.

If you did try the IR sensor, then the higher you go, the less output voltage you get. You would then put the IR output on Vin positive pin and the reference voltage on Vin negative pin of the comparator. So up till the wheelie reference voltage, the output of the comparator will be high. When the input voltage drops below the reference point, the output will go low. As mentioned earlier it matters on how much sink current the mgmt. system requires and making sure that the sensor output will meet that.